Ariel Levy discusses and signs Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention--for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion.  When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true.  Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules--about work, about love, and about womanhood.
-I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can't have it all.-
In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being -a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses.- Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed--and of what is eternal. (Random House)

Photo Credit: David Klagsbrun

Free RSVP on Facebook

 

 

Event date: 
Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
Book Soup
8818 Sunset Boulevard
West Hollywood, CA 90069
The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812996937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - March 14th, 2017