Jacob Rubin discusses and signs The Poser

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom. As Giovanni describes it, "No one's disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire." As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight--the only person whose thread he cannot find--and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own. 
In the vein of Jonathan Lethem's and Kevin Wilson's playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin's The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love. (Viking Books) "The Poser is smart and grand and funny, a wonderful fable. Mr. Rubin is a great hope for comic fiction in the 21st century. He's got the spirit and the ear." --Sam Lipsyte, New York Times bestselling author of The Ask
Event date: 
Tuesday, March 31, 2015 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
8818 W Sunset Blvd
90069 West Hollywood
us
The Poser Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780670016761
Availability: Special Order - Please Call the Store to Verify
Published: Viking - March 17th, 2015