Big Gay Wedding: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Big Gay Wedding: A Novel By Byron Lane Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


An unashamedly proud, loud, and hilarious novel about a small town that’s forever changed by a big gay wedding, perfect for fans of Red, White & Royal Blue and The Guncle

Two grooms. One mother of a problem.

Barnett Durang has a secret. No, not THAT secret. His widowed mother has long known he’s gay. The secret is Barnett is getting married. At his mother’s farm. In their small Louisiana town. She just doesn’t know it yet.

It’ll be an intimate affair. Just two hundred or so of the most fabulous folks Barnett is shipping in from the “heathen coasts,” as Mom likes to call them, turning her quiet rescue farm for misfit animals into a most unlikely wedding venue.

But there are forces, both within this modern new family and in the town itself, that really don’t want to see this handsome couple march down the aisle. It’ll be the biggest, gayest event in the town’s history if they can pull it off, and after a glitter-filled week, nothing will ever be the same. Big Gay Wedding is an uplifting book about the power of family and the unconditional love of a mother for her son.

About the Author


Byron Lane is author of A Star Is Bored, hailed by the New York Times Book Review as “wildly funny and irreverent.” He’s a playwright, screenwriter, Emmy Award–winning journalist, and former assistant to actress Carrie Fisher. He’s originally from New Orleans and lives in Palm Springs, California, with his husband, author Steven Rowley, and their rescue dogs, Raindrop and Shirley.

Praise For…


“My heart grew three sizes reading Big Gay Wedding. This charming book had me snorting unattractively, laughing uncontrollably, and ugly crying in between. A poignant delight from start to finish. Read it, damn it! Just read it!”
—Bianca Marais, bestselling author of The Witches of Moonshyne Manor

Big Gay Wedding is a quirky family story packed with hilarious and tender moments. Lovers of Schitt’s Creek will delight in Byron Lane’s cast of lovable misfits as they band together to plan a big gay wedding, the first in a Southern town.”
—Kate Russo, author of Super Host

“Filled with charming characters, tenacious empathy, and so much heart, Big Gay Wedding is an event you’ll wish you could attend in person.”
—Alison Larkin, author of The People We Keep

“Reading Byron Lane’s warm and hysterical new novel made me feel like I hit the wedding guest jackpot and got seated at the very best table, surrounded by gloriously weird and funny guests I’ll remember long after the grooms have been waved off.”
—Bobby Finger, author of The Old Place

“An intoxicating mix of comedy, romance, and familial drama, that goes down like a delicious Aperol Spritz. But Big Gay Wedding is more than simply a bubbly concoction - it brims with life, with humor, and a tenderness that will stay with you long after you finish the final page.”
—Jonathan Parks-Ramage, author of Yes, Daddy

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250267146
ISBN-10: 1250267145
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Publication Date: May 30th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English