A Terrible Place for a Nest (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Terrible Place for a Nest By Sara Levine, Erika Meza (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sara Levine, Erika Meza (Illustrator)
$19.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A child learns to settle into a new home in this lyrical and stirring picture book perfect for fans of MEMORY JARS and EVELYN DEL REY IS MOVING AWAY.

Juno and his mom have just moved into a new home, and he hates everything about it - the new school, his new classmates, his new room.

Just outside his window, Juno notices a family of mourning doves have started a nest atop the fence, and they seem to be struggling to make it work, too. Sure enough, Juno concludes this new place is a terrible place to build a nest.

But, as winter turns to spring and the doves grow, so does Juno. And while this new place may be scary and sometimes lonely, they will all make it work, together.

Lyrical and hopeful, A Terrible Place for a Nest is a tender and uplifting tale about facing new experiences with empathy and courage.

About the Author


Sara Levine is an award-winning picture book author, veterinarian and science educator. Her books which include Bone by Bone, Tooth by Tooth, Flower Talk, Sensitive, and The Animals Would Not Sleep! have received the AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize, Bank Street College Best Book of the Year, Beehive Book Award, Cook Prize and the Mathical Book Prize. She loves doing school and library programs.

Erika Meza grew up in Mexico and moved houses more often than she had birthdays. Having studied illustration in Paris, she now lives in London—her thirty-sixth address—where she paints, writes her own stories, and practices her uncanny ability to pack efficiently. Erika loves exploring, learning about many different places and cultures, and finding joy in the people who allow you to be yourself.

Praise For…


"A feel-good ode to resilience." -- Kirkus Reviews

"
The...steady transformation that Levine traces from upset to familiarity and joy feels real and satisfying." -- Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250861221
ISBN-10: 1250861225
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: May 21st, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English