CANCELED: Allison Margolin discusses Just Dope: A Leading Attorney's Personal Journey Inside the War on Drugs

THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELED.

Getting high is something most of us do, and in many cases do safely--yet drugs remain a singular public enemy. In a ranging blend of memoir, pop culture, policy critique, and social analysis, LA-based criminal defense attorney Allison Margolin explores why--and what we can do about it.

Informed by Margolin's experiences as a drug user, advocate, and the daughter of California's most renowned (and infamous) cannabis attorney, Just Dope offers a look at where our current drug policy fails. It exposes the true history of drug prohibition in the United States, sharing why it started, how it evolved, and where it stands now. And it looks unflinchingly at the false dichotomy between "good" drugs and "bad" drugs and Margolin's experience with programs like D.A.R.E that misguidedly ask you to "Just Say No."

For readers of All Day is a Long Time and In the Realm of Hungry GhostsJust Dope is an experiential tour-de-force of personal essay and whip-smart policy critique--and a vital call to knowledge and action. (North Atlantic Books)

Event date: 
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Book Soup
8818 Sunset Boulevard
West Hollywood, CA 90069
Event Type: 
Just Dope: A Leading Attorney's Personal Journey Inside the War on Drugs By Allison Margolin Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781623176860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Atlantic Books - August 30th, 2022