Maggie Mertens, in conversation with Liza Mundy, discusses Better Faster Farther

Maggie Mertens

Despite women proving their abilities on the track time and again, men in the medical establishment, media, and athletic associations have fought to keep women (or at least white women) fragile--and sometimes literally tried to push them out of the race (see Kathrine Switzer, Boston Marathon, 1967). Yet before there were running shoes for women, they ran barefoot or in nursing shoes. They ran without sports bras, which weren't invented until 1977, or disguised as men. They faced down doctors who put them on bed rest and newspaper reports that said women collapsed if they ran a mere eight hundred meters, just two laps around the track. Still today, women face relentless attention to their bodies: Is she too strong, too masculine? Is she even really a woman?

Mertens transports us from that first boundary-breaking marathon in Greece, 1896, to the earliest "official" women's races of the twentieth century to today's most intense ultramarathons, in which women are setting all-out records, even against men. For readers of Good and MadBorn to Run, and Fly GirlsBetter Faster Farther takes us inside the lives and the victories of the women who have redefined society's image of strength and power. (Algonquin Books)

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 26, 2024 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Book Soup
8818 Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90069
Event Type: 
Pre-Order Now Badge
Better Faster Farther: How Running Changed Everything We Know About Women By Maggie Mertens Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781643753355
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Algonquin Books - June 18th, 2024