Namina Forna & Amélie Wen Zhao in a special conversation for Independent Bookstore Day 2021

Bestselling authors Namina Forna and Amélie Wen Zhao will be joining us on Independent Bookstore Day 2021 for a special conversation about their new novels, the creative process, what it's like to release a book during a global pandemic and anything else they'd like! 

Submit fan questions for a special Q&A!

About the Gilded Ones:

The most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Get ready for battle. 

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity–and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki–near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be–not even Deka herself.

The start of a bold and immersive fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther

About Red Tigress:

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone will love the sequel to Blood Heir. The second book in an epic fantasy series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to liberate her empire from a dark reign.

Ana Mikhailov is the only surviving member of the royal family of Cyrilia. She has no army, no title, and no allies, and now she must find a way to take back the throne or risk the brutal retribution of the empress. Morganya is determined to establish a new world order on the spilled blood of non-Affinites. Ana is certain that Morganya won't stop until she kills them all.

Ana's only chance at navigating the dangerous world of her homeland means partnering with Ramson Quicktongue again. But the cunning crime lord has schemes of his own. For Ana to find an army, they must cross the Whitewaves to the impenetrable stone forts of Bregon. Only, no one can be certain what they will find there.

A dark power has risen. Will revolution bring peace--or will it only paint the streets in more blood.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 24, 2021 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
The Gilded Ones Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984848697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - February 9th, 2021

Red Tigress (Blood Heir #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525707837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - March 2nd, 2021